STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER

REGISTRATION

The Minnesota State Bar Association filed a petition with this Court on November

1, 2007, recommending amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer

Registration. The petition sought to increase the lawyer registration fee by \$8.00 per year

and to allocate that additional money for a lawyers assistance program. This Court, in an

order filed January 3, 2008, invited written comments on the proposed amendments. The

comment period has now expired.

The court has reviewed the petition and is advised in the premises.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments to the Rules of the

Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration be, and the same are, prescribed and promulgated

to be effective with the registration cycle deadline of July 1, 2008.

Dated: March 19, 2008

BY THE COURT:

Russell A. Anderson

Kmn-

Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

MAR 20 2008

1

Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A. Required Fee.

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.

B. Active Statuses.

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of \$221229 or such lesser sum as is set forth in the following sections.

1. Active Status--Income Less Than \$25,000.

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than \$25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of \$196.204.

2. Active Status--Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty.

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States must pay an annual registration fee of \$110.118.

3. Active Status--Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty--Income Less Than \$25,000.

A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than \$25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of \$85.93.

4. Active Status--Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of \$100.108.

5. Active Status--Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years--Income Less Than \$25,000.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than \$25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of \$87.50.95.50.

C. Inactive Statuses.

1. Inactive Status--Out-of-State.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of \$182.190.

2. Inactive Status--Out-of-State--Income Less Than \$25,000.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than \$25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of \$157.165.

3. Inactive Status--Minnesota.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state must pay an annual registration fee of \$182.190.

4. Inactive Status--Minnesota--Income Less Than \$25,000.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than \$25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of \$157.165.

5. Inactive Status--Retired.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirement Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, (ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, (iv) is at least 62 years of age, and (v) is retired from any gainful employment is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer's or judge's retirement. A Retirement Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C7 of this rule.

6. Inactive Status--Permanent Disability.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Disability Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive status, (ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, and (iv) is totally disabled is exempt from payment of any registration fee during the period of the lawyer's or judge's disability. A Disability Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C7 of this rule.

7. Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status.

A lawyer or judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or assuming judicial responsibilities, (i) promptly notify the Lawyer Registration Office, (ii) complete a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay the applicable registration fee, (iv) complete all continuing legal education (CLE) requirements and be transferred to CLE active status, (v) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC, and (vi) comply with Rule 6 of these rules.

D. Allocation of Fees.

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:

- (1) Payments of \$221229 are allocated as follows:
 - \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
 - \$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
 - \$122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
 - \$12 to the Client Security Fund;
 - \$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
 - \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.
- (2) Payments of \$196204 are allocated as follows:
 - \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
 - \$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

- \$122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
- \$12 to the Client Security Fund;
- \$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
- \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

(3) Payments of \$182190 are allocated as follows:

- \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
- \$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
- \$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
- \$12 to the Client Security Fund;
- \$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
- \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

(4) Payments of \$157165 are allocated as follows:

- \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
- \$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
- \$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
- \$12 to the Client Security Fund;
- \$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
- \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

(5) Payments of \$\frac{110118}{1102118} are allocated as follows:

- \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
- \$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
- \$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
- \$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
- \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

(6) Payments of \$8593 are allocated as follows:

- \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners:
- \$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
- \$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
- \$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
- \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

(7) Payments of \$100<u>108</u> are allocated as follows:

- \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
- \$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
- \$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
- \$12 to the Client Security Fund;
- \$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
- \$\stacksquare{16}\) to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

- (8) Payments of \$87.5095.50 are allocated as follows:
 - \$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
 - \$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;
 - \$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;
 - \$12 to the Client Security Fund;
 - \$12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and
 - \$816 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.